Eventually, technology will solve the most important environmental problems the world faces today.

Technology is growing at a very fast pace with advancements in various fields. There has been many discoveries and inventions, specially in Information technology and bio-technology sectors. While these are helping humans solve many common problems, environmental problem cannot be solved completely with it. In my opinion, I disagree that only technology can help us tackle environmental issues. However, this can likely be resolved by human beings taking responsibility for their actions to conserve nature.

There has been an increasing demand for natural resources like wood and fuel. Since population is increasing steadily, consumption for the same has seen new heights. People are not ready to switch to Eco-friendly alternatives like electric vehicles and e-paper. Even though, they are aware that this can help conserve nature, they avoid doing so because it might end up increasing cost and are not much concerned about the consequences.For example, even today at my workplace, my peers use printers to print unnecessary documents and avoid carpooling as they have enough money to spend on fuel themselves and pay no heed towards the Co2 emission generated by their vehicle. If this continues for another few years, the ozone layer can deplete rapidly and no technology can help save our planet from harmful UV radiations emitted by sun.

Another problem people don't pay much attention to is recycling. This has been greatly ignored for many decades. Thousands of products are packaged using plastics which take millions of years to decompose. The main reason for using plastic is because its cost effective. While some of them can be recycled, most of them cannot be recycled. Even today, when I go to supermarket, I see unnecessary packaging of products. Majority of the consumers do not even think about this before buying the product. If they start using products with Eco-friendly packaging and recycle products on regular basis, we can save millions of trees from being cut down and thus save environment from deforestation.

In conclusion, the public needs to be made aware of various environmental problems existing today and should take necessary actions rather than depending solely on technology to protect our planet.