Eventually, technology will solve the most important environmental problems the world faces today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technologies have been solving many of difficult environmental challenges which human beings had faced before, such as securing clean water and recycling paper wastes. Considering such achievements we experienced, there is a high chance that future technological advancement will enable the world to tackle important environmental problems of these days. Nowadays, Global Warming and Polluted Ocean are claimed as pressing issues, and I think technology can solve them in future although it takes a certain amount of time.

Firstly, as high attention for 16 years old girl's speech at UN and the historically serious damage reported in Venice flood, the Global Warming is critical and effective and urgent solutions are required. To tackle this, clean energy such as solar power and biogas power are recognized as a key solution. It is difficult, however, to scale such sustainable energy plants in global-wide, because to support human's activities, it requires huge power, since the world's population is growing while reaching the zenith of industrialization in many countries. Technological development, in the way, can solve this issue and provide enough clean energy for people. It may take time, but recent advancement of solar power plant is notable and many experts welcome such improvements which contributes making the clean energy as an economical option for many poor countries.

In addition to that, Polluted Ocean is another challenge people face. This problem is deep-rooted because use of plastics is widely spread even in the developing countries. Because plastics is convenient and cheap. Therefore, unless human can invent alternative materials which are equally useful and economical and as well as eco-friendly, it is hard to remove all the plastics garbage from the sea. However, recently washable silicone bags are on sale for an alternative for plastic lunch bags. It is just one example and it could not cover all use cases of the plastic, but such new inventions can help keeping ocean clean eventually.

As such, technology in future can enable people to solve even the most difficult and serious environment challenges, but it will not be able to happen in one day. So tenacious investment for technological development is important.