Every year an increasing number of people suffer from fast-food-related diseases. The government, therefore, should impose a high tax on fast food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the number of victims of diseases related to fast-food is growing considerably every year. Some suggest that a severe tax should be imposed on fast-food, which is a good idea, in my opinion.

Junk food obviously has adverse effects on people’s health, especially weight. The high contents of fat and carbohydrate in fast food are the main cause of obesity. Fried chicken and deep-fried potatoes, for example, are made with a thick coat of bread-crumb soaked in repeatedly-used oil. Its popularity affects everyone’s daily diet and adds an excessive amount of calories to their bodies. Obesity and other diseases not only diminish their lifespan but also hinder their working ability. Thus, a strict measure should be taken on a national or even international scale.

Applying a high tax is surely a good point because the main reason for fast-food consumption is its low price. With the addition of tax, it is no longer a cheap and available choice. People will opt for purchasing fresh ingredients to make better-valued and healthy meals. Moreover, we could ensure the reduction in the number of junk-food suppliers because if there is a higher tax, the business will seem less lucrative. This also means fewer people can have access to fast-food and related illnesses.

In conclusion, an urgent rate of diseases associated with the use of junk food should be well-aware and tacked. Applying a strict tax level is an effective measure in this case.