Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? (Sample Answer 2)

Annually many languages are disappearing into oblivion. It is argued that it is better for the world to have a lesser number of languages.

There are so many different languages spoken and written worldwide, some having regional influences, while others having a global outreach. Due to the advent of modern media and social networking as well as advancement in internet technology, some languages have become much popular such as English, French, German and others to name a few. It surely helps for better communication and understanding as well as develops as a bridge between varied cultures and diversity. It also creates a better job and educational opportunities abroad. For instance if a person is fluent in English, he is more likely to be hired for a job in English speaking nations, as compared to a person who is not good at English.

The flip side of globalization is that local and regional languages and dialect suffer and some are even on the verge of extinction as even local people are reluctant to embrace it as a primary medium of education and research, leave alone making a career out of it. For instance Sanskrit is one of the oldest spoken languages in the world, however, these days very few speakers are left as most of them do not see any advantage in spending much of energy and time on it.

The impact of globalization and the resulting growth of major world languages has brought people and civilizations closer together than ever before, however it has in return severely impacted the local and regional languages, some of which are threatened to be lost forever.