Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Whycould this be?Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

In this modern world, a lot of people have started watching foreign movies, meanwhile, the regional and local based movies are on a steady decline. The most important reason behind this paradigm shift is globalization and internet-based movies. I strongly believe that the government must support the local film industries financially for its survival and co-existence along with foreign films.

In recent times, more and more individuals are watching foreign movies than ever before. Two major factors play a vital role in this phenomenon. Primarily, due to globalization and closer communication between different nations, art and cultural interactions do take place often. Films are among them which are made at staggering budgets and involves advanced skills and technology from the best artists around the globe. They provide a completely different experience to the viewers as compared to the regional/ national films.

Additionally, internet facility has become ubiquitous in the last few years. Internet-based movies have flourished which can be downloaded or watched online through live streaming. Moreover, these are relatively cheaper as well as contents are relatively less censored as compared to the local movies.

On the other hand, local and regional movies and films are based on the local dialect and involve the cultures and traditions of the native population and many a time reflects prevailing social problems through the movies which have a direct connection with the local audience which is received well across the generations. As the local movies face direct competition from foreign-based movies, the industry needs to be supported financially by the government for survival and for remaining relevant they need to reinvent the art of film making.

To sum up, the globalization and advent of internet-based films have severely jeopardized the existence of local movies, which must be supported financially by the government and lawmakers for the preservation and survival of regional and national film industry, else the social and the emotional connect with the local flair of this will be lost forever.