Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this age of globalization, many people seem to have lost interest in their regional languages. As a result, many languages are dying out. Although some people think that it is not a crucial problem since communication will be more effective with fewer languages. I fully concur with the given idea and in this essay I will give some arguments in favour of support my opinion.

Generally speaking, there are a wide of reasons why people believe that the presence of fewer languages for communication will substantially strengthen the relationships between countries. Thus the economy will flourish in both developed and developing countries. For instance, a recent study has revealed that poorer countries where people can speak English or French fluently had higher rates of development compared to those whose population spoke only local languages. In addition, most of the recent and updated knowledge in almost all life field is presented in English or French. So fewer languages will facilitate faster knowledge and technology between nations.

Another key argument in support of this idea is that languages which are getting lost are mostly spoken by fewer people. It is not uncommon that only a few people speak a particular language and that’s why it is in danger. Most of such languages are spoken by a tribe and people of this tribe have developed in terms of education and lifestyle and have accepted a new language. In some cases, we should put more priority on people’s life standard rather than focusing on the language they speak.

To conclude, as the aforementioned discussion, I am strongly inclined to this argument. In my opinion, we should not worry too much about a language’s disappearance and should accept the fact that fewer languages in the world mean better communication and better understanding among nations.