Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As a consequence of modernization and globalization, more and more people tend to use international language such as English, German, and French instead of their mother tongue, resulting in the extinction of some language in the world. It is commonly believed that life will be easier if there are fewer languages. As far as I am concerned, language will preserve the culture, tradition, and history of a group of people, a country, as well as a continent.

To begin with, it is no deniable that the numerous numbers of languages existing have showed the uniqueness of the world cultures. What I mean is that the diversity of languages could state for the richness of civilizations due to the fact that each language represents the identity of only one community or tribe. The more languages still do exist, the more national culture and tradition of that nation could be saved and passed to the next generation. Hence, the diversity of the world languages has a lot of benefits for the individual and the society, including keeping the identity culture and tradition.

Furthermore, what the other reason for the importance of language diversity would be reduction in the number of employment opportunities. In other words, it is acknowledged that the jobs of translating will be disappearing if there is no need of understanding foreign language when people have only a few languages globally. For instance, no sooner might English became a mother tongue in Vietnam than the Vietnamese people making money by writing subtitles for Western movies or translating English articles into Vietnamese would need to look for other jobs. Thereby, the loss of language would lead to a huge change in the world job market with the unemployment of individuals who work for language research.

To conclude, the extinction of languages could be considered as a vital problem which can cause several difficulties in human life, including the loss of identity culture and the change in the worldwide job market.