Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people are more concerned about their diet. Every would like a safe and healthy diet. Opinions are divided as to whether or not we should get rid of meat in everyday menu. Personally, I do not subscribe to the theory that all people should follow a meat-free diet, while I cannot deny its benefits.

For a number of reasons, it is unwise not to eat dishes made from meat. Healthy food must be balanced with necessary nutrients. Vegetables contain only a few nutrients. Although the human body can absorb a certain amount of protein from vegetables like beans and potatoes, certain proteins are found only in meat. Nutrients are less abundant in plants than in animals. Not all of us might like to be vegans because it requires a great amount of time to cook vegetarian food due to the complicated nature of the recipes. So, people choose to eat at restaurants that serve meat-free foods. But only the rich can afford this.

Vegetarianism is not without merits. Vegetable nutrients digest much easier than meat nutrients, especially proteins. Patients with kidney diseases are often medically advised to follow vegetarian diet to avoid excess intake of proteins. The higher the level of protein in diet, the greater the risk kidney patients may face.

It is, therefore, desirable to have a balanced diet consisting of both vegetable and meat in appropriate proportion, perhaps, as recommended by a dietitian