Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the
environment. What can governments do to address these problems?
What can individual people do?
Humans are responsible for a variety of environmental problems, but we
can also take steps to reduce the damage that we are causing to the
planet. This essay will discuss environmental problems and the measures
that governments and individuals can take to address these problems.
Two of the biggest threats to the environment are air pollution and waste.
Gas emissions from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles lead to
global warming, which may have a devastating effect on the planet in the
future. As the human population increases, we are also producing ever
greater quantities of waste, which contaminates the earth and pollutes
rivers and oceans.
Governments could certainly make more effort to reduce air pollution. They
could introduce laws to limit emissions from factories or to force companies
to use renewable energy from solar, wind or water power. They could also
impose ‘green taxes’ on drivers and airline companies. In this way, people
would be encouraged to use public transport and to take fewer flights
abroad, therefore reducing emissions.
Individuals should also take responsibility for the impact they have on the
environment. They can take public transport rather than driving, choose
products with less packaging, and recycle as much as possible. Most
supermarkets now provide reusable bags for shoppers as well as ‘banks’
for recycling glass, plastic and paper in their car parks. By reusing and
recycling, we can help to reduce waste.
In conclusion, both national governments and individuals must play their
part in looking after the environment.