Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Humans along with the continuous development of science and technology as well as population growth have been causing bad consequences to the environment. In my opinion, governments can do more to protect the environment.

The ever-increasing demand for convenience and speed in any field drives suppliers into the race of producing new products with many new features. That means having impacts on the environment in terms of the extraction of raw materials and energy in the production process and potential risks from old equipment being discharged. In addition, the world's population is going up every year, which leads to increasing demand for housing and food. Deforestation of houses and farms is causing ecological imbalance and climate change.

However, governments can completely protect the environment by many different measures. Firstly, they can implement strict policies to enhance compliance with laws on environmental protection, exploitation, rational and economical use of natural resources, and development of ecologically friendly products. Secondly, investment in scientific research, development of technology for pollution treatment, recycling, waste treatment, etc. should be prioritized.

Additionally, another important action is to bring the importance of environmental protection into schools from primary school to university to educate children, and students, who are the next generations, which could help to build their awareness and responsibility for this problem.

In conclusion, governments could certainly implement a range of actions to ensure economic development and lessen negative environmental effects. And each individual could also contribute by being aware and taking action from simple steps to safeguard the environment, such as simplifying life, not buying unnecessary products, and limiting the use of the product that may be harmful to the environment.