Extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In recent years, the question whether vigorous sports should be outlawed by government legislation has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although these sports do pose some potential risks, their advantages will justify these.

On the one hand, some reasons can be cited to support why the government should impose an official ban on dangerous sports. First, since the inherently dangerous nature of vigorous sports can threaten lives, they should be prohibited. In fact, players are prone to serious injuries, such as bone fractures, head trauma and fatal accidents, which is detrimental to their physical and mental development. Second, by participating in extreme sports, it costs participants a large amount of money. This means that participating fees and insurances are prohibitively expensive, which makes these sports become unaffordable for the majority.

Nevertheless, there are many compelling reasons why recreational activities should not be banned. First, the original purpose of these sports is training survival skills with a view to saving humans’ lives. For instance, it is necessary for pilots to learn how to parachute, and residents in heavy-snow countries, such as Eskinos, are able to move in these severe weather conditions, thus the practice of extreme sports should be permitted. Second, if people who take part adhere to the recommended safety procedures, the risk of accidents and injuries will be minimized. Plenty of sensible safety measures, such as safety ropes, helmets, brakes and even professionally qualified instructors, have been proven to mitigate the danger, thereby the prohibition of these sports is irrational.

In conclusion, although extremes sports run the risk of fatal damage, they should not be banned because of their benefits as well as the proliferation of protective equipment.