Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you

think the advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the question whether a global language should be adopted has sparked a controversy. Although this appears to be a rational idea, its consequences will eclipse upsides.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that the adoption of a language offers a number of manifest benefits. First, since language homogeneity facilitates the communication between people, it will boost national economic well-being. In fact, a salient example is Singapore because it is a country that uses English as the first language, which plays a crucial role in opening avenues for the penetration of foreign investments thanks to the accessibility of business transactions. Second, by developing a global language, humankind will have the opportunity of enriching knowledge. Apparently, all documents will be written with a sole language, which helps humans can have a full grasp of many fields such as Math or Science, hence the foreign language limitations will be eased.

However, there is much compelling evidence proves that the disadvantages will overshadow the advantages. First, if a language disappears, the national identity of that country is also demolished. For instance, although the complexity of Chinese characters is an obstacle to the push for global of China, and Mao Zedong even told to an American journalist in 1936 that he would replace Chinese characters with Latin alphabets someday, the country still keeps its language because they afraid that their descendants will not be able to understand the national intangible cultural heritage. Second, with a view to preventing the loss of cultural diversities, people should not use mere language in common. This means that because a language has embedded customs, norms as well as ways of life, the indigenous culture of a nation would also be demolished if the language is gone, which is detrimental to the tourism since cultural diversity is the crucial factor that draws tourists’ attraction.

In conclusion, although the language assimilation is conducive to human to some extent, the disadvantages are far more significant.