face-to-face contact
It is true that nowadays there is a significant growth in communication through social
media instead of face to face contact in people's lives. While this trend is conducive
to several positive outcomes, I would maintain that it is overall a negative
development.
On the one hand, there are several merits of using social networking sites to
communicating. It must be recognised that this helps people maintain relationships
that would otherwise be lost by relocation or business. For example, Facebook and
Twitter are allowed people to post their pictures or personal changes. This enables
sliver surfer to update information about their friends despite long distance. Another
advantage is that those who have psychological problems such as lack self-
confidence in the face - to - face meetings could facilitate to express their feeling and
thinking.
On the other hand, I believe that such merits are negated by the following
drawbacks. Firstly, those who became over-reliant on social networking sites are
likely to lack interest in having face-to-face communication. In fact, they prefer
solving issues connected with personal life or work using social messaging system
by emojis and smileys rather than meeting in person. As a consequence, people
experience problems with understanding real emotions in professional relationship.
In addition to this, people are likely to be victims of scammers when being made
friends with strangers. For instance, people could not control a false indentity who
could be tricked them about personal information. This could be rendered users lost
money.
In conclusion, I consider that the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the
advantages, and the ability to articulate thoughts and emotions to others face-to-face
may soon be lost altogether.