“Facebook dominates the free-time for too many people, especially children. It can have negative effects on their study and physical development”. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Write an essay to express your opinion

It is widely acknowledged that digital technology has profound effects on our lives and one of the latest advances in technology is development of Facebook, which allow users to live in virtual community. While a school of thoughts holds that Facebook may bring about detrimental impacts, especially on students’ study performance and physical health, I am of the opinion that students could take advantage of using this platform.

On the one hand, some people believe that Facebook has bad influence on the young and justifiably so. The key rational is that Facebook may distract students from their studies due to the attraction of several activities offered. Many youngsters indulge themselves spending a large amount of times using Facebook in lieu of focusing on their work, which lead to a decrease in productivity and academic performance. Another noteworthy point is that many of activities that youngsters engage in with Facebook are sedentary, which in turn can prevent them from involving in outdoor activities, thereby lead to several health issues such as obesity or poor vision. A study in Europe has reported a 40% decrease in obesity in youngsters whose screen-time is limited by parents than those without limitation.

Instead of the aforementioned disadvantages, I would argue that Facebook benefits students in various way. Foremost is that Facebook could be used for educational purposes, including collaboration, discussion and to obtain extra help as it is proved to be a broad platform with members from around the world. Students with similar interest can form a group and learn from each other without any obstacles which may tremendously help them understand the matter thoroughly, hence enhancing their study performance. Moreover, students could take advantage of using Facebook as it provides a wide range of information and study resources such as chatroom or studying pages. Before the introduction of social media like Facebook, most students relied mainly on TV broadcasts, newspapers or radio to update essential knowledge. On the other hand, with the support of advance technology, youngsters could get access to learning materials just by a click or a keyword.

In conclusion, although Facebook can pose a threat to students’ studies and holistic health, I maintain that they can take advantages from using it such as gaining knowledge easier or improve their learning outcomes. It is advisable that students should be allowed to use Facebook in their study under parents supervision to mitigate its drawbacks.