Fast food is now universally available in most countries and is becoming increasingly popular. Some feel that this is a positive trend, while other do not. What about your opinions on this?

It is true that fast food chains are easily found in numerous countries and becoming more irreplaceable in this day age. Albeit its generally acknowledged benefits, I am of the opinion that this new kind of meal also brings detrimental impact to humanity due to its health undermining as well as devaluing family tie.

First of all, pre-prepared food is inextricably linked to deterioration in people’s health status. Apparently, higher level of obesity is a widespread trend in big cities which is mainly caused by the habits of having fast food, as many international fast food corporations such as KFC, McDonald’s, Burger King and so on expand globally, it is definitely harder for people to resist such appealing meals considering its time efficiency and affordable price. Moreover, this expansion should be responsible for not only obesity but also diabetes and heart diseases.

Secondly, fast food possibly jeopardizes family values it sets superficial trends causing less interaction among every family members in the daily perspective. There is no doubt that the more people eat in fast food-serving restaurants, the more likely they skip having dinner at home. It weakens close-knit relationship and widens the gap between generations in family. The situation might get worse if one starts actively following this trend and ignore their traditions and customers.

Al in all, the advantages of fast food are far outweighed by its drawbacks. I personally believe that people should not have pre-prepared food on a regular basis because of those aforementioned potential effects.