Fast food is now universally in most countries and is becoming increasingly popular.

Some feel that this is a positive trend, while others do not.

What are your opinions in this?

It is undeniable that fast food is gaining more and more prevalence all over the world. Whether this trend is advantageous or disadvantageous is a debatable issue. I, personally, believe fast food brings both benefits and drawbacks.

Those are favor of junk food due to a host of reasons. It is obvious that the availability of this type of food is beneficial to people in terms of time and convenience. Instead of spending long hours in the kitchen preparing meals, a housewife could save a considerable amount of time by easily ordering hamburgers, fried chicken or pizza, for example and as a result, she could have more free time available to carry out other tasks such as taking care of her children. Another advantage of this popularity worth mentioning is the significant growth of fast food industry, leading to a number of jobs being created on a yearly basis. In fact, Mc Donald, an American fast food brand, is the worth-fifth largest employer, with 1,000,000 employees in 2011.

Those who hold an opposite opinion present their viewpoints as well. Firstly, the handiness of fast food could trigger a sedentary lifestyle, adversely affecting people’s health. It is common for a person who are heavily addicted to junk food suffers from health problems such as obesity, diabetes and high blood pressure. A telling example is American, which is believed as the hometown of fast food, and may be due to this, the proportion of overweight children has been alarming there. Equally serious, if people are more dependent on processed food or ready meals, they are prone to ignore the importance of home-made food, a primary factor contributing to cozy atmosphere in a family.

In conclusion, it is my belief that the merits fast food brings about are significant but its detriments should not be simultaneously underestimated.