Most people accept that we now live in a globalized world but not everyone agrees that this is beneficial. Is globalization positive or negative?

The past 50 years ago have seen the remarkable speed of globalization, which has raised certain questions about whether its impacts are advantageous to the majority. In my view, there are more drawbacks worth considering.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that globalization has boosted the population’s living standards to some perspectives. The international commerce has witnessed the most outstanding development as more and more countries find import and export crucial to increase the amount of foreign currency and meet the domestic demand. Of course, the citizens are beneficial as it is far easier for them to purchase high-quality products originated from oversea countries with reasonable prices. It is undeniable that the globalization has facilitated a smooth flow of transportation among countries. In fact, there are a number of policies put forward, such as loosening visa procedures to fulfil the need for international tourism and abroad education, which is particularly beneficial to people from all walks of life.

Nevertheless, I would argue that the enormous aftermaths resulted from globalization could not be underestimated. Firstly, the more dependence on other nation’s economy, the more severity a country would suffer. Take the trade war between China and America recently, which adversely affected Korea as this country import a large amount of technological equipment from them, as a telling example. In terms of finance, the consequences are expected on the global scale in regard to how influential the Wall stock market has been. Even more disturbing, though, is the accelerating rate of international crimes. It is tougher and more arduous for policies to prevent evil delinquencies which involve the partnership of multi-nationalities offenders.

By way of conclusion, though globalization plays a critical role in bringing about the prosperity to people in numerous countries, there should be more international collaboration among national leaders to tackle its alarming unwelcoming outcomes.