Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Hobbies are a vital part of an individuals life as they can act as stress reliving method for some or a source of earning for others. But nowadays, only few people devote their time to hobbies and there are various reasons why this situation is persisting in modern world with notable effects on an individual and society as whole.

Overall, assigning time to hobbies is not subjective to entertainment but can also be beneficial for a person or community. But, due to the radical changes in lifestyle and technology people have found certain new ways of unwinding themselves. In today's hectic world, the launch of mobile phones, televisions and computers made life more convenient for mankind and people prefer watching movies or playing games with family rather than giving time to their hobbies. Moreover, instead of having a self dedicated leisure time, some individuals even prefer visiting malls with their family or friends so that they can spend quality time with family. For example, a working professional gets only one day leave in entire week, so he would prefer spending time his family to strengthen the bond rather than being selfish and offering time to individual leisure activity.

However, few people devoting time to hobbies has not affected society at large because it's an individuals choice where to dedicate his time. Although, it might lead to criticism from some family members if the person stops allocating time for his own leisure activity and becomes indolent. Even individual might go through additional stresses of pleasing and maintaining relationships with the family or others causing emotional and intellectual imbalance.

In conclusion, devoting time to hobbies has become rare today due to additional responsibilities of work and family and invention of other types of relaxation methods but individuals should consider giving a sometime for their own development and leisure to keep themselves mentally stable.