Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen pencil or brush. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or a negative development?

In contemporary society, technological advancements impact every aspect of human life, including writing methods. It is a fact that the number of people using traditional stationery to write is on the decline. Although there are sound reasons related to efficiency in the hectic and rushed pace of life nowadays to explain this, I believe this trend results in some drawbacks apart from undeniable advantages.

To commence with, the diminishing preference for handwritten forms is due to the advent of digital devices and the nature of modern communication. Regarding the former, with supporting features, computers, and mobile phones streamline the writing process and document storage. To illustrate, online platforms such as Google Docs offer autocorrection, and more recently, AI-generated content suggestions, and Google Drive provides a huge space to store data. In addition, modern lifestyles, often characterized by time constraints and an emphasis on efficiency, usually demand quicker modes of writing. Instead of writing by hand word by word and hard to edit if wrong content has been already written down which is time-consuming, electronic devices allow people to complete their writing significantly more quickly, freely editing and using available coded format.

Although digital platforms bring about an efficient writing way to meet the demands of modern society, I still believe that this trend results in some negative impacts. First and foremost, a notable consequence is the potential detriment to an individual’s writing skills when they are overreliant on technical tools for document preparation. For instance, numerous university students now employ ChatGPT to generate written content, gradually losing the ability to choose proper words or grammatical structures to create their own writing. Secondly, when more and more people prefer using gadgets to write, it might lead to the loss of traditional skills and cultural practices associated with handwriting. In many cultures, like China and Japan, where calligraphy has been a revered art form for centuries, reflecting a combination of aesthetic beauty and linguistic expression, the decline in the practice of handwriting may lead to a loss of cultural heritage.

In conclusion, the declining preference for handwriting is driven by the speed and convenience of typing in a busy life. However, I consider it a negative development if humans overuse this method and forget handwriting skills.