Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the context that science has become one of the top-tier concerns of each nation, a school of thought holds that scientific projects should be conducted and governed by national institutions rather than private organizations. From my perspective, I concur with this assertion as two main reasons related to budget and management problems which will be elaborated on in this essay.

To commence with, with national taxes, governments outweigh private firms in ensuring a sound financial source for high-costing scientific studies. Indeed, executing such projects involves a huge amount of money invested in from facilities and equipment to educational programs training talents in this field. Moreover, scientific projects last even several years and are likely to have uncertain results. Therefore, if responsibility is assigned to private companies, they may suffer from bankruptcy when such projects end in failure (fail). To illustrate, in the US, most civil space programs, aeronautics research, and space research are conducted effectively by NASA which is a United States federal government agency.

In addition, other aspects worth mentioning are social development and security to prove that scientific research should undergo vigorous administration by national authorities instead of independent firms. First and foremost, some scientific research areas concerning human lives and even national safety may result in detrimental effects if are controlled loosely by private companies. The most prime example may be nuclear experiments which can cause radiation leaks and affect human health, even being passed down through generations if the infrastructure is not carefully maintained. Secondly, scientific achievements should serve a public purpose while private companies tend to make use of them for commercial interests. As a result, only the prosperous can access scientific betterment while the rest of the world live in backward condition leading to an unequal society.

In conclusion, it has been argued that governments should be responsible for scientific research and I side with this opinion as this facilitates certainty in investment cost and prevents side-effects regarding security and equal social development.