Fewer people today are writing by hand. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, with rapid technological advancement, the traditional writing practice of hand on paper is declining in popularity. In my opinion, there are both benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, the abandonment of traditional writing will bring many disadvantages. Firstly, people's traditional writing skills will decline because they rarely practise handwriting. Instead, they prefer to use their smartphones and computers and type letters on them. As a result, people will become increasingly unfamiliar with how to write and spell words due to their reliance on typing systems, to the extent that they will forget to write Chinese characters and have no way of making notes when they cannot use electronic devices for input. Furthermore, this trend is likely to affect the transmission of traditional arts, such as painting and calligraphy, as it requires ink and various brushes to be prepared and difficult to modify before writing calligraphy, compared to the easy-to-use electronic tablet drawing. Hence, fewer people will be willing to spend a lot of time practising these traditional skills, and it may even be difficult for them to exist in the next century. In addition, handwritten letters can express a strong personal emotion, such as deep affection and respect, which makes the text more sincere and impressive, something that is lacking in emails or text messages.

On the other hand, there are also various positive effects. Firstly, using computers and mobile phones to communicate with other people rather than writing letters by hand is more applicable-more convenient and quicker. For example, editing an e-mail and texting a message just need a few minutes and people send them to others on social media without few seconds. However, letters by hand usually take people several days to reach their destination. Therefore, using some method of social media and the Internet make people`s life and work more effective and efficient. In addition, compared to handwriting, people can share not only text but also their photographs and videos on social media like QQ and Wechat with friends and family members, which is more entertaining and joyful.

In conclusion, handwriting has indeed many positive impacts, especially on the development of individuals and culture. Meanwhile, there is a myriad of benefits to utilizing electronic technology to replace traditional writing as it most importantly increases efficiency in work and study.