Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their handwriting skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

With the unimaginable development of modern technology, handwriting skills have gradually become non-compulsory as the electronic devices such as tablets,laptop, smartphones have more or less superseded their role in today’s schools. Despite all the benefits they bring, handwriting still plays a crucial role in the study programme of students.

On the one hand, less environmental damages are why handwriting is considered obsolete. Since the papers used for taking note all come from trees, it is estimated that about 2 billion tree are cut down annually to produce enough materials for textbooks and other kinds needed for handwriting. As a result, deforestation and global warming are exacerbated instead of being reduced. In addition, the assistance of electronic devices help students share the burden of bringing such a heavy backpack to school everyday when they just have to carry a laptop or a small tablet with an electronic pen along to write down all the formulas and essays for every lesson.

On the other hand, it is impossible to eliminate handwriting skills from a standard programme as it helps the brain function better. Through writing by hand, students can retain memory better than typing or just touching a screen, thus giving an excellent performance in examinations. In addition, handwriting skills are believed to be a powerful stimuli that boosts the creativity in children. With a brain full of curiosities and eagerness about everything, children often sketch or draft what they are thinking or imagining onto a paper that will nurture their visual and imaginative skills later in life. Studies have also proved a connection between individuals’ handwriting and their own characteristics. For example, people whose handwriting is neat and well-organised are usually more meticulous and sophisticated than those with a disorderly script.

To summarize, while there are many minuses of handwriting, it is still considered as the best way for students to acquire knowledge.