Films were produced by big companies in the past, but today people are able to make a film. Do you think this trend is positive or negative?

These days, filmmaking has no longer restricted to large corporations as individuals now can easily make videos. This shift has profound effects on cinematography, and I would argue that it brings about both merits and demerits.

On the one hand, the widespread of amateur films comes at a price. Firstly, as independent movie creators are not under regulations, they are more likely to fringe the copyrights, causing damage to big brand's reputations and profits. Second, as small-budget movies do not go under censorship, they can be fire with violent and offensive content. For instance, many videos on Youtube employ inappropriate scenes such as pornography, which leads to detrimental effects on those at impressionable ages.

On the other hand, perhaps the most advantage of this trend is that the filmmaking industry is no longer exclusive to dominant film studios like Hollywood but a level playing field. In the past, films produced by big companies revolved around some dominant genres, and familiar topics such as Superheros science fiction. The involvement of amateur filmmakers spice up the whole industry, hence, the audience can benefit from a wider spectrum. Second, the emergence of independent filmmakers promotes individuals wishing to embark on this profession. In fact, despite being low-budget, many films of independent creators receive a great deal of attention from the public and even rise the fame and pursue professional film careers.

In conclusion, although the emerging trend of individuals making films may downgrade the quality of films, this shift allows diversity and talents in the field.