Films were produced by big companies in the past, but today people are able to make a film. Is this a negative or positive development?

The film industry has been dominated by several giant companies so far until these days when more and more people choose to make a film solely. This phenomenon comes with both advantages and disadvantages, which will be discussed in this essay.

It is obvious that when people tend to make films on their own, there are more possibilities for exploring hidden talent in the filmmaking industry. When a person has an opportunity to create a film product, it also is an opportunity to explore himself; thus, hidden talents in filmmaking might be found. Moreover, solely making films gives filmmakers a valuable chance to express themselves. For instance, “4 years, 2 guys, 1 love” is a debut film of a young director - Luk Van - who also is an investor and producer of this film. Since Luk participated in almost all the production stages, the film was strongly imbued with her personal identity. Besides, more people involved in the filmmaking industry means that the market is becoming more and more competitive. In other words, big companies have to try to raise the quality of their product to compete with their emerging rivals.

On the other hand, the phenomenon also poses a handful of problems. Due to the fact that indie filmmakers are not professional and have a low cost, their products might be low-quality films. The lack of money prevents the film crew from applying advanced techniques or films at beautiful places; therefore, the film’s quality might not be as good as expected and might disappoint the audience. Furthermore, independently making a film might cause several copyright and censorship problems since the indie filmmaker crews might take some others’ sources in their products without permission.

In summary, the merits of independent filmmaking evidently outweigh its demerits. However, people should be careful when making a film in order to avoid any unnecessary trouble.