Films were produced by big companies in the past, but today people are able to make a film. Is this a negative or positive development?

A surge in modern technology has now enabled non-professionals to make films, which used to require arduous work from big corporations. While this development can be disadvantageous to some degree, the advantages are of greater significance.

On the one hand, the importance of advanced filmmaking courses is facing widespread ignorance. As there are instructions on how to produce a film with a mobile phone and an extensive knowledge pack about film editing that are available on social media platforms, people assume that filmmaking is rather easy to master. Consequently, some myopic individuals who aspire to become successful directors decide not to enroll in any particular prestigious university to explore the field academically. Educators who rely on filmmaking courses to earn their livings are therefore being made redundant, escalating the unemployment situation of certain nations, and their economic development might be hindered. Moreover, an abundance of low-quality films on social media sites can cause dissatisfaction and frustration among viewers. They will abandon their habits of using these applications, which undoubtedly have a negative influence on the revenues of the founders.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned adverse effects regarding the simplification of filmmaking, there are various benefits brought by this phenomenon. Chief among these is that financial can take advantage of this to increase interactions with potential customers at a smaller expense. A prominent example can be observed in the success of Vinamilk corporation, which has hired influencers with no experienced celebrity manager to produce short films. Such innovative advertisements discreetly introduce main features of the new products, prompting watchers to purchase them out of curiosity while relieving their stress as the fundamental purpose of films. Another point worth considering is that non-professionals can have an extra income during unfavorable periods of their lives. For instance, two years ago, as a result of the pandemic, my aunt was not allowed to go to work, which heightened her financial burden. Fortunately, using the time at home, she began making blog videos and films based on her experience. Surprisingly, her videos received a positive evaluation from the viewers and brought about a huge amount of money, which was, as she revealed, greater than her previous salary. Currently, she is a blogger with millions of followers, which secures her a lucrative income.

In conclusion, while the fact that the public can now produce films themselves exerts several valid concerns, I am inclined to the view that its positive effects overshadow them. It is advisable for experts in filmmaking to share their knowledge with individuals who are ignorant of this field to enhance the overall quality of films publicized on the internet.