The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Cars are playing an essential part in a person's life, and it has come to a point wherein we cannot live without it. In 1888, British introduced them in roads. As years pass by, new varieties of transportation such as bus, train ,airplane and trucks have also appeared on roads of London. In my opinion, having a car makes human's lives easier for travel while, other types of transport facilities also helps nation's in different ways which would be discussed in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, transportation is a basic need for everyone around the world. It helps them to travel to work, transport goods and even to relax. While they are different types, cars posses the most advantage as people could choose the time they want to start from their starting point to reach their destination. For example, a student wanting to attend an interview could travel by car so that he would reach the company in time.

On the other hand, as car ownership keeps on increasing, traffic in roads are also seen to rise. This causes accidents and dispute among the public and hence, amendment of global laws could solve this problem. Government could pass laws such that buying two or more cars by a single family would be fined that could initiate fear to individuals spending more for them. However, an even better solution would be usage of public transport such as the metro. This would not only reduce traffic but also reduces air pollution that is caused my increasing usage of cars.

In conclusion, vehicles play a major role in managing events that occur in different places. Although Cars are one of best options for travelling with safety, it pose bad effects towards the society. Hence, with the help of public transport facilities and the creation of new national laws, people will be aware of the issues and control the usage of cars.