The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads.

Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I strongly agree with the idea that there should be prompt measures to promote the use of other means of transportation than personal cars, as well as universal regulations regarding one's rights of owning or using said vehicle. This is mainly based on the following reasons.

Firstly, supposedly there would be more than 29 million vehicles on roads throughout Britian alone. Such overwhelming density is bound to cause traffic congestion, which can lead to other inconvenience such as people getting late to appointments, or, even worse, special vehicles like fire-trucks or ambulances getting delayed while in emergencies.

Secondly, not only is overflowing traffic a nuisance for human, it is also a threat to the environment, for the amount of carbon dioxide in the exhaust fumes released during heavy traffic is one of the main factors causing green-house effect, directly contributing to the severity of global warming.

Lastly, the suggestion of replacing cars with other forms of transportation is a practical solution to the problem. By sharing trips on buses, trains, taxis, etc, we can reduce the use of personal cars, moving faster thanks to lighter traffic all the while helping with preventing potential air pollution. In addition, strict laws and regulations in terms of owning or using cars are also a promisingly effective way to control vehicle density and maintain a smooth flow of traffic.

Overall, I cannot agree more with the suggestion on restraining the number of cars because by doing so not only would we have less busy roads and cleaner air, but we would also contribute considerably to protecting the environment.