Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a students performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a students performance and continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. I do not agree with the given statement as only examinations are not enough to decide student's performance. There are many other things that must be assessed before actually deciding someone's performance. On the other hand, continual assessments such as course work and projects would be better and satisfactory way to do this as student's growth and improvement with time and their creativity would be better known through this.

In most of the developing countries like Nepal, student's performance are assessed through formal education. Students are judged on the basis of their marks they obtained in their examination. This is absolutely a wrong way because formal examination tests how much a student can read, remember and write irrespective of how much knowledge he has gained, what changes he has made and how better he has improved his creativity. Hence, if a student's performance is to be better assessed, many other things should be accessed like what changes has he/she made in his/her behavior, how better he has understood and how far he has made its implications.

I believe continual assessments such as course work and projects are much more better way to do it. Continual assessments do not judge students on examination basis. Rather, students timely performance is assessed. This helps to determine student's actual progress with time. Projects work determine student's creativity and help to know what they are good at. Through this, not only their ability to read and write but also their ability to do various other cirricular activities are assessed. The more qualities we know, the better their performance is assessed. Hence, these continual assessment help to better assess students performance by providing more information.

To sum up, it is better to carry out continual assessments such as course work and projects along with some formal examination to better assess a student's performance.