Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as s source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Around the world, in different countries, solar energy is being more and more popular as a source of household energy. Since there is a lack of non-renewable resources: a renewable source of energy such as solar energy is highly used. On the one hand, as the sun is the perpetual source of energy: solar energy can be produced easily. The cost of this energy is cheap as it is directly produced from the Sun using solar panels. On the other hand, the energy will not be produced on a cloudy day. Also, solar panels should be fitted which requires more space, it is space-consuming.

Here, solar energy is a renewable source of energy which is produced from the Sun with the help of solar panels, So it is cheaper as compared to other sources of energy. Every household activity such as lighting can be done using this energy. It is widely used as it doesn't require any fuel to produce energy and is affordable for people of average economic status.

Despite having various advantages, it has some disadvantages too. When the weather is not clear: on a cloudy day energy cannot be produced as there will not be the presence of sunlight which is the major source of solar energy. Because of solar panels, the larger area is occupied which creates problems for those who have less area. Though it is cheap, at the beginning it is costly to fit the panels and other necessary equipment.

To sum up, solar energy is used excessively nowadays knowing that benefits are higher rather than demerits. As we know, it is pollution free and sustainable, and the use of solar energy should be highly encouraged discussing its merits of it.