Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by schools and universities? What other types of assessment are possible?

Numerous countries around the world employ formal examinations in assessing students at the end of each semester. Educational organizations use formal exams in order to conduct an accurate assessment for a student's level of knowledge. Practical tests as well as assignments such as research and projects are possible alternatives to written exams.

First of all, Universities and schools formally examine their pupils because it has been an extremely reliable method to accurately determine the level of understanding for which a student possesses about the topics they get taught during the semester. In addition, written tests include a wide verity of question types, each question requires the students to not only have a great deal of knowledge but also requires them to logically think about the problem that they are presented with. Dr. Jordan B. Peterson who is a professor at the university of Toronto claims that the result that students get on their exams accurately represents exactly how much the student has been studying and precisely how much effort he or she has been putting. Consequently, formal exams are the most commonly used form of examination by schools and universities.

There are other methods to examine students. Firstly, students can practically use what they learned in class which can allow them to experience the subject in a real world situation. For example in the faculty of information technology students can apply what they learned in classes such as programming languages to create their own programs and applications. Furthermore, a good way to prove comprehension is to let students make projects closely related to the subject.

In conclusion, multiple countries prefer the use of formal exams to evaluate students every semester. This type of examination has shown high accuracy levels on many occasions; Thus, it is widely used. Although formal tests are prevalent, students can also be evaluated through a series of practical tests or assignments.