Fossil fuels (e.g. coal, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged for use by some countries. To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, energy is one of the most crucial and considerable issues in the world and it is evidenced that fossil fuels are used as the main source of energy for most countries. Besides, because of the drawbacks of using fossil fuels, people in some countries encourage others to utilize alternative energy sources. In my opinion, there might be some disadvantages when moving to use natural resources energy, but eventually this development will bring us more benefits.

On the one hand, alternative energy sourcres are friendly to environment in compasion with fossil fuels, since they come from moving water, wind, the sun, and gas from animal waste, and also because electric production or running vehicles release very little, or even no, emissions when used. For example, solar panels put on vast areas or individual buliding absorb heat from the sun to create solar energy, or making use of winds to create electricity from wind turbines. On the other hand, there are only a few limitations on exploiting alternative resources energy because the progress of creating energy depends wholly on weather conditions. If there isn’t any wind or sunshine in some cases, solar panels or wind turbines won’t work in order to create electricity.

The next thing to mention is that if alternative energy is more popular in use, there will be more development in products and cars manufacturing industry, also in order to respond to global warming and greenhouse effect that become even worse and adversely affect humanbeing and other living creatures day by day. There is empirical data showing that more and more people choose to use electric cars rather than conventional types of cars, not only because of the convenience but also because of the benefits they bring us. In contrast to this, exploiting natural energy resources require high initial cost to develop machines and equipments, and that may put financial burden on the government or companies. Especially for some undeveloped countries, it will be a problem if they consider replacing fossil fuels with alternative energy.

In summary, finding the appropriate energy sources is never easy at first. While there’re still some drawbacks when deciding to use alternative energy, the pros of replacing fossil fuels are still promising. Personally, I believe that the benefits in terms of moving forward using alternative energy eventually outweigh any negatives