In many countries, people like to eat a wider variety of food than can be grown in their local area. As a result, much of the food people eat today has to come from other regions.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantage

Word: 291

Due to a substantial increase in food demand that local products cannot meet and globalization, people currently consume a great amount of imported food such as cheese, seafood and fruit. From my point of view, this trend’s merits take precedence over its drawbacks.

On the one hand, using a wide range of foreign products poses far-reaching repercussions for the environment. Transporting food from other countries generates a greater carbon footprint in comparison with buying the food that is produced on our doorstep. This is because imported items such as American apples to Vietnam need to be transported a long distance by air or ship and refrigerated to keep them fresh during the delivery process. These means of transportation and methods of food preservation experience massive food miles and consume a great deal of fossil fuel, thereby increasing global warming.

Despite the negatives mentioned above, there are a plethora of benefits that imported foods offer to local residents and the domestic market. First, foreign foods diversify the dining experience of the region's food consumers. The locals can enjoy numerous off-season foods such as fresh bananas or kiwis all year round. They can also have a chance to get access to exotic cuisine from different cultures all over the world without travelling abroad. From an economic perspective, food imports and exports leverage the national economy through trade activities with partner nations. To exemplify, Vietnam, the world's second rice exporter, gains a billion dollars by exporting to the American market. Meanwhile, the USA is Vietnam's key supplier of agricultural products such as dairy products and wheat.

In conclusion, although importing food exerts detrimental implications on the environment, I believe that its advantages, including broadening dietary choices and uplifting the economy, far outweigh its drawbacks.