Fossil fuels, such as coal, oil and natural gas, are used in many countries. The use of

alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, is encouraged. Is this trend a positive or negative development?

There is an ongoing contentious debate over whether the use of fossil fuels, such as coal, oil, and natural gas should be replaced by new and clean energy. In my opinion, this change will be the best solution for the imminent deleterious environmental collapse.

To begin with, the main issue with relying on fossil fuels such as coal and oil is unsustainable. Humanity has been depending on those limited Earth resources to generate electricity for decades. For example, even the most developing country in the world like the USA is still struggling to maintain the country’s oil reserve.

Moreover, with the use of fossil fuels, our environment has been destroyed due to an increase in the amount of carbon dioxide emission. As most people know, our planet is being on the verge of polluting every day and the effect of the climate change phenomenon is increasing continuously every year as the consequence of the broken atmosphere due to the effect of carbon dioxide. Furthermore, oil spills or explosions of drill rigs affect negatively the marine ecosystem.

On the other hand, the shift to renewable energy resources such as wind and solar is an excellent replacement for limited sources, as environmentally friendly. These alternative sources will ease the burden on the rapid exhaustion of the Earth’s natural resources.

In conclusion, the switch to solar and wind power not only can satiate the rising demand for energy but also give the solution to the world’s environmental crisis, and thus, it is a positive development of humanity.