In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In these days and ages, the advancement of global technology allows various fields including transportation to maximize their potential, and automatically driving car is one of many products stemming from this progress. In addition to trivial disadvantages, driverless vehicles bring countrymen specific merits, so I strongly believe that the benefits of these cars overweigh their drawbacks for some reasons below.

On the one hand, driverless cars are ideal vehicles for disabled people to utilize when they are on board. This is because disabled people, such as the deaf and the blind, don’t have the ability to control any vehicles without the assistance of the others, either their family members or friends, which is the reason why they are more susceptible to overreliance on their loved ones whenever they want to go somewhere, leading to the nuance and inconvenience in their life. Therefore, the appearance of automatically driving cars solves their problems thoroughly as they are not required to drive the vehicle but the car’s automatic system. Besides, driverless automobiles are environmentally friendly vehicles. Specifically, since automatically driving cars run are powered by electricity with a very low amount of exhaust fume, in comparison with petrol ones, the pressure that driverless cars put on the environment is much lower than conventional cars. According to scientifically proven research, about 70% of CO2 in the atmosphere stem from transportation means, especially petrol car, so popularizing the driverless car usage contributes to a significant reduction of CO2, which improves the air quality and decline air-related diseases of humans, such as lung cancer and respiratory disorders.

On the other hand, from my personal view, the disadvantages stemming from hand-free driving cannot be overlooked, especially factors that degrade the reliability of this modern vehicle. Firstly, resembling a computer system, automatically driving cars are more susceptible to technical glitches that humans cannot handle on their journey than traditional cars. Indeed, although driverless cars are equipped with cutting-edge engines that can surmount extreme weather and geology, in some unpredictable circumstances, those state-of-the-art cars cannot bear making serious mistakes. This leads to crashes that are not only dangerous for traffic users but also destructive to road infrastructure. Furthermore, if hand-free driving cars become ubiquitous, people involved in trucking and delivering are prone to unemployment as there is no longer need for vehicle operation jobs in an automatic life.

In conclusion, despite having some disadvantages related to software errors and the unemployment rate of humans, driverless cars bring citizens huge benefits such as improving the environment and addressing the mobility issue of disabled people that are undeniable. Hence, from my perspective, the benefits of these cars still overweigh their drawbacks.