In the future, all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that in the foreseeable future all the contemporary vehicles will be replaced by autonomous cars and all of the people inside the vehicle will be considered passengers. Despite the benefits of cost-effectiveness and lower accident rates, the drawbacks of job scarcity and not being designed for the developing countries should also be taken into consideration.

One of the major benefits of why people prefer the driverless car is it has more cost-effectiveness than traditional cars. Currently, we have been facing the excessive price of fossil fuels which is mandatory for our conventional cars; however, by using the driverless car we can able to save money as all the autonomous cars are now either run on a solar system or depend on electricity. Tesla, for example, does not require any kind of oil to run its engine. Another advantage of using a self-driving car is that it will abate accidents. Human beings can do lots of mistakes while driving but robotic cars can drive quite efficiently. A recent study reveals that autonomous cars will reduce 56% of accidents.

However, the self-driving car has some severe problems that can not be ignored. Firstly, robotic cars will destroy the job of the drivers. These cars are designed with the machine learning algorithm and for this reason, they will take bold decisions without the drivers. As a result, the drivers will be jobless. Another problem with the autonomous car is that it is not designed for developing countries. For this reason, it won't be ubiquitous. Developing countries, for instance, India and Bangladesh can not use these cars as they are only designed for the developed countries.

There are two major drawbacks of drivers will be jobless and not omnipresent in developing countries; however, the advantages of cost-effectiveness and abating the traffic accidents will outweigh the drawbacks of driverless cars.