In the future, all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of artificial intelligence, many aspects of our lives have been affected in different ways. One of which is the emergence of autonomous vehicles, which are envisaged to replace human drivers in the future. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this advance along with my evaluation of the matter.

The elderly and the disabled can benefit from this form of transport, and it also contributes to the decrease in accidents. This is because all driverless cars are programmed to perform with a certain accurate result automatically. Therefore, the old and handicapped people, who are mostly dependent on others and do not have the ability to self-travel, are able to commute on the road with only a few clicks on the touching screen. Moreover, most severe road accidents are caused by human errors, such as drunk drivers, and loss of concentration. When vehicles are self-driven - in other words, with no human involvement, alleviates car crashes or even deaths.

However, the predicted development also reveals its downsides. The most prominent one is that many drivers will lose their jobs due to the decrease in demands for human engagement. Another negative influence can be found in systematic control. It is true that automated machines are not fully secured by developers; they are occasionally hacked by people with bad intentions. Consequently, if the system suddenly performs in an incorrect way, it will pose threats to passengers when in a self-driving car.

In conclusion, I hold the view that the advantages of driverless vehicles eclipse the disadvantages as they can help different types of people and obliterate car crashes caused by humans, which seem to be more prioritised than their negative repercussions.