In the future, it seems more difficult to live on the Earth. Some people think more

money should be spent on researching other planet to live, such as Mars. To what

extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, the question of whether human should give high priority for researching extraterrestrial life or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although these projects appear attractive, the downsides will be far more significant.

There are a variety of reasons why the earth is becoming inhospitable. first, since the over-consumption of human race results in depletion of natural resources, human life is more and more unsustainable. In fact, non-renewable resources like fossil fuels, groundwater, earth minerals are going to reach the peaks and eventually running out, which cannot adequately supply for growing energy demands. second, by causing plenty of contamination, environmental quality is degrading. this means that everyday people are suffered from a large number of exhaust fumes from vehicles, carbon emission from factories and thousands of tons of industrial rubbish, which definitely has negative impacts on human health.

Nevertheless, it is not necessary to expend money on researching the earth-like planets. first, in order to conduct these space programs, government funds seem to spend a tremendous amount of money. For example, to launch the projects, a team needs a number of qualified researchers, professional experts as well as many modern types of equipment like supercomputers, telescopes and satellites, which leads to budget deficits as an unexpected result. second, if this amount of money could be used for investing modern technology, discovering a new planet is not considered as a high priority. In fact, eco-friendly alternatives, electric vehicles and renewable resources have been widely using and achieving positive results all around the world, which implies that living sustainably on the earth is more straightforward.

In conclusion, the downsides of colonising new planets are more severe. By considering all aspects, people could make a rational decision now and down the road.