in the future, the main reason for going to the shopping mall will be for entertainment, not to shop. DO you agree or disagree?

It is true that for some people, spending time in a shopping mall is not only for shopping but also for relaxation. While agreeing that this trend is gaining more and more popularity, I believe that entertainment is not the primary reason for going to the mall.

It cannot be denied that shopping malls which offer people a variety of services can attract more customers to come because shopping has become a kind of pleasure; it is no longer a household task as before. People today are not likely to shop alone. Instead, they do shopping with their family or friends, usually on weekends. This is also a chance for them to be together in a restaurant or in a cinema after buying something for a whole week. This is the reason why we usually see more people in entertainment and restaurant areas than in shopping sections.

However, I argue against the idea that people will choose shopping malls for entertainment instead of for shopping. In fact, there are many amazing amusement parks which offer them a much more variety of entertainment forms. Therefore, if someone’s need is to seek something to entertain them, they simply choose an entertainment center. It is just like the case that if I want to learn French and English, to save time for traveling, I will choose a school which can offer me both courses but if I just want to learn English, then I will choose a school which specializes in English teaching. All forms of entertainment in a shopping mall can only be used as a supplementary to the main service of a shopping mall to bring more convenience to its customers. Entertainment can never replace the main function of a shopping mall, a place for people to shop.

In sum, shopping malls will continue to expand their areas for entertainment activities to draw more customers, but customers will never go to a shopping mall just for entertainment.