In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

Besides the development of technology, and social media, there are many ways for people to access information and knowledge such as searching on Google, watching videos on youtube, etc. An asseveration that the ability to read anything online for free will mean that nobody will buy physical newspapers or books in the future. In my case, I strongly disagree with this statement and the following paragraph will explain my viewpoint.

First of all, some occupations such as writer, editor, journalist, playwright, and some publishing companies earn money from producing books, newspapers, magazines, etc. If people move to read online without paying, they can not sell books and newspapers and earn money from these. Consequently, their ideas and efforts can be wasted, leading to a corollary in the decline of employees in that profession. For instance, some authors earn income from selling their books and sometimes sell them on the Internet at a lower price. Likewise, some publishing companies can be bankrupt because of no profit.

In addition, the information on the internet is abundant and difficult to censor. People can access the source of false information and thereby adversely affect the perception and understanding of people. Since the age of using social media and the internet is diverse from children to the elderly, it may not be possible to distinguish the right information. In particular, a child can become riotous by learning from terrorists on the internet and it is complicated to re-educated that child. Moreover, practicing the habit of reading books every day will positively change the perception and personality of each person.

Apart from that reading books and newspapers can reach people from different areas and ages. In fact, people who live in the countryside or mountain lack material conditions, and electronics so they can not use the Internet or technology. Additionally, the information and knowledge conveyed through books and newspapers will be more convenient for the elderly and children.

In conclusion, reading online or buying printed books and newspapers have many pros and cons in this century. However, using printed books and newspapers can reach many types of people in different situations. Hence, everyone should keep the habit of reading printed books and newspapers.