In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that printed newspapers and books will become less popular and everyone will read digital ones instead. I partly agree with the idea that this can happen in the years to come.

On the one hand, it is obvious that people will read more digital newspapers, books, or magazines than they did in the past. There are various reasons for this trend, ranging from convenience and availability to environmental concerns. With the development of technology, most people have smartphones, allowing them to read books and access news from around the world without purchasing them from stores. This is more accessible and suitable for the hectic lifestyles of today. Furthermore, the trend towards sustainable development also contributes to this reality. The fewer newspapers and books are printed, the fewer trees are cut down.

On the other hand, I do not believe that people will be able to read everything they want without paying. All online reading platforms need money to maintain, operate, or compensate authors. This means that there will be some free documents and some charged ones. For example, it is likely that books published a long time ago will be free, but new releases may require payment to access. Besides, although there will be more people reading online, physical editions will still be alive. This can be attributed to preferences and the unique characteristics that printed documents offer, such as the tactile experience and the scent of paper.

In conclusion, while people are likely to read more digital documents in the future, there will still be individuals who prefer reading printed ones, and not all of these documents will be freely accessible to everyone.