Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that the extinction of certain species of plants and animals is the key environmental issue nowadays. Personally, I believe that there are more crucial problems relating to the environment that we need to pay more atttention to.

On the one hand, the loss of some species has affected widely to other species and the environment as a whole. Huarango trees, for example, are the plant that has the longest roots in the world, so they play an important role in storing water not only for themselves but also for other plants. In other words, the disappearance of this tree resulted in deserts in the wide area. Furthermore, huarango forests also are the places for various species to live in. When some animals lose their habitats, it is likely to lead to the extinction of some creatures, in general, the ecosystem is threatened as well.

On the other hand, I believe that there are some vital problems that people should concern about, ranging from climate change and waste to air polution. The Earth is increasingly become warmer because carbon dioxide footprint released to the environment, as a result, a host of other problems happened such as ice smelting, natural disasters. This is the emergency problem that all countries should find out solutions as soon as possible. Besides, air pollution also affected significantly to people who live in big cities around the world, leading to health problems. Finally, the world’s population is increasing quickly and the waste that people produced is not treated properly. Micro plastic is an example, nowadays we use too much plastic products and they are harmful for human’s health.

In conclusion, there are several reasons why people argue that the main environmental problems of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals, in my opinion, there are also more vital issues that people should care about.