In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The explosive growth of online media and e-books has noticeably changed the way people read. There is the possibility to read everything free of charge instead of purchasing hard copies, which will have revolutionized the printing industry since there would not be any customers.

SOME ARGUE THAT paper books and printed newspapers are still valuable. This is mainly because they are accustomed to reading them on paper. They think that they can easily focus on materials and follow the lines so that nothing can distract them. Using gadgets including laptops and mobile phones may divert the attention of those who are not able to concentrate. Although there are some new programs and devices like kindle that ARE INTENDED PRIMARILY FOR READING rather than gaming, some people still resist the new technology.

Having said that, I still believe THAT in the future, digital books and online news services render printed books and newspapers obsolete. One of the most compelling reason is that the cost of downloading reading materials COMPARED to purchasing the printed ones seems reasonable. This originally stems from the fact that “PAPER” IS becoming unaffordable due to its high environmental value, which may INHIBIT “MANY” knowledge seekers FROM acquiring knowledge and information. Online materials are FREELY available EVERYWHERE (or at lower prices), minimizing the cost of publishing.

Not only WOULD THIS REDUCE the COSTS of paper printing, but also the distribution and shipping costs will be eliminated. The internet has introduced a new concept in delivery process where there is no need to carry heavy books and newspapers to the destination.

The variety of services that these cutting-edge technologies offer is also incomparable to its previous ones. THESE services FACILITATE the process of reading AND MAKE IT MORE AFFORDABLE. For instance, every simple book can be stored in A laptop or mobile phone, WHICH WOULD TAKE UP VERY LITTLE space in comparison with CONVENTIONAL books, WHICH require massive bookshelves to accommodate. The lower price of maintaining countless resources ENABLES the user TO have access to utterly different source of information.

TO CONCLUDE, more and more people nowadays are reading online. It is inevitable that printed books and newspaper are going to become an alternative to the previous resources because new technologies are cost-effective and provide a lot of services.