Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is considered by some authorities that learning a foreign language should be started at primary school instead of secondary school. However, in my opinion, this can cause more problems compared to any advantages it might bring.

Admittedly, students have some basic benefits to be taught a second language before entering secondary school. Firstly, they can provide much more time on practicing and become fluent sooner. In other words, elementary school's curriculum is likely to be less occupied by the core subjects such as mathematics, science, and technology. Therefore, younger children could spend enough time on a foreign language course, which accelerates their learning procedure. Secondly, in many cases, younger children would be considered more confident in learning than older ones. As a result, they would learn and speak freely without any shyness and fear of mistaking.

Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, learning another language at lower grades has some severe drawbacks. One potential problem would be that primary school have to pay some excess costs such as specialist teachers' salaries. This, in turn, may put them under pressure to allocate the budget of other sectors for this aim, which may lead to a decrease in educational qualities. Another obvious issue is that learning a second language, having different structures, vocabularies, and grammar may negatively affect their first language. To put it simply, while they still would not be professional in their mother tongue's academic and formal aspects, facing new linguistic rules would be frustrating. Consequently, it could lead to a weak basis in their native language for the next grades.

In conclusion, I believe that the disadvantages of starting a foreign language learning program in primary school before secondary school far outweigh any of the benefits that could be resulting from it.