Giving children pocket money is common in many countries. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of giving pocket money to children.

Parents in most countries nowadays provide their children with some amount of money as their allowance, which often sparks debates among various groups of people. There are some obvious advantages of giving pocket money to the children, but the negatives associated with it are prevalent as well, which are discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs.

On one hand, giving allowance money to children helps them develop management skills, while also assists in case of emergencies. Providing pocket money acts as the earliest way to introduce money management skills to the children, which helps to foster responsible behaviour and spending habits in their adulthood as well. According to a study by The Times Magazine, more than half of the richest people in the world had their introduction to healthy spending habits and money management through weekly allowances by their parents. Additionally, with the society spear-headed to the money minded era, having some disposable money is a necessity at times of emergency, thus, the pocket money for children provides help in minor emergencies, from forgetting to bring lunch to school to forgetting to ask for money for the school trips.

On the other hand, children holding excessive amount of cash exposes them to multiple dangerous situations. The growing trend of loots and theft, leading to multiple accident in American schools perfectly exemplifies the threats children are exposed to, because of their pocket money. Moreover, it is not to be forgotten that children are often influenced by things that shine and are succeptible to buy things off of peer pressure, so having no supervision over the spending habits of the children might develop irresponsible behaviour toward money in them. The sales of vapes and e-cigarettes widely in the market, can often worsen the situation, which has been a common problem among American children.

In conclusion, there are a plethora of issues associated with providing pocket money to the children, which sometimes puts them in a situation of grave danger, yet the positives in fostering healthier management skills overweighs the rare negatives. Furthermore, having the parents watch over the spending habits of the children can reduce the disadvantages by a greater extent.