In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Children in some societies are often encouraged to dream big and told that everything can be achievable if worked hard enough, which among other societies is frowned upon. Letting children dream to achieve higher goals has a plethora of advantages including a boost in morale, while it also contributes to various issues when the child is struck with reality.

To begin with, encouraging children to work hard for achieving their dreams provides them a much needed moral support to work through the hurdles in life. When told that anything can be achievable with hardwork and perseverance, children from their early days start working towards their goal, thus, providing a motive which drives them to learn and grow from the earliest of ages.The Journal of Child Psychology, in their recent study, stated that children who are told that they can achieve anything, grown faster psychologically and have a strong drive toward their goals than others. Moreover, it is often found that people who are constantly working towards their goals have a better odds of reaching them, than the ones who lack the motivation, which is supported by childhood stories of more than two-thirds of the world's influential people, as reported by Forbes .

On the other hand, people who have been lied to about anything being achievable solely based on their hard work have a hard time when their efforts are cut short due to their social and economic limitations. Though hard to swallow, hard work is often outraced by privilege in modern society, thus when the goals are not achieved despite the hard work, people get shattered and can not cope up with it, leading to serious psychological problems. In contrary, even if a person who has been woking from their whole life to attain a certain position, when reaches to the point finds themself at the stage of severe burnout, as the thing that they had glamorized for years do not sometimes turn to be what they have thought of.

In conclusion, encouraging children to dream big has its benefits as it pushes them towards growth from their earliest ages and in most cases leads them to their dreams, while in some cases when their dreams are cut short by someone more privileged, it is harder for them to get back to reality. Thus, children should be motivated to dream big and work hard for what they believe in, yet they must also be taught about the reality of the world in the meantime.