The government has announced that it plans to build a new university. Somepeople think that your community would be a good place to locate theuniversity. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of a new university in your community,

Education is the most powerful weapon which we can use to change the world. Some people argue that building the new university in our community provides numerous benefits. In this essay we will discuss the pros and cons in building a new university in our local community.

From one side, there are many benefits in building a new university in our community. Firstly, building a university means bringing a lot of students to our community. They spend their leisure time in our community. It helps to boost the local business and the unemployment rate will also decrease in our community. Secondly, if the new university is built in our community it helps the young people in our community to get a higher education and gain more knowledge. the illiterate ratio will decrease in our community. For instance, in Madurai before 1990 the literacy rate was very low after the Annamalai university was built in 1993 after that the literacy rate of Madurai became very high. Finally, a new university helps to meet new people and develop relationships with them.

From another side, building a new university has some disadvantages also, building a new university is a long process. A new construction means more traffic, noise and pollution. Most of the people come from nearby cities to run business here, so it will be very noisy and crowded. As a result we may not be able to enjoy the quiet and clean environment as a presence.

To sum up, every coin has both sides. Building a new university has both advantages and disadvantages. But the advantages would far outweigh the disadvantages. I strongly believe that building a new university helps the young people to get higher education and gain more knowledge.