In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Twenty first century is rapidly advancing both technologically and economically. However, a novel menace of lifestyle disorders are also increasingly prevalent. Studies indicate that the average human weight of both men and women globally have considerably risen, in comparison to our ancestors. This essay will elaborate on some of the reasons attributing to this weight gain and give few insights on the countermeasures needed to solve the crisis.

Evidently, Obesity is one of the top contributors amongst non-communicable disease-based morbidity. Innovations in food sciences, and their rampantly unscrutinised execution at an industry level is the root basis of many diversely attractive unhealthy edible options One of the core culprits include fast food chains, which have vastly pervaded many countries of our world. Mixed with intelligent advertising and social media trends, youth have inexcusably favoured these quick bites offering rich flavours, while taking an ill-note of artificial preservatives and abnormally high calorie count these dishes offer. To quote a shining example, Kentucky fried chicken offers deep fried chicken wings and tasty burgers, loaded with salts and oil at an arguably reasonable price. No wonder, college students flock around their outlets, especially on those sale days, where two buckets of chicken can be purchased at the price of one tub.

On a further note, there is a considerable fall in people’s determination to commit themselves to the discipline of regular exercise. This may be a personal preference but, it is unfortunately obvious that this not being balanced with their diet. Gym might not be everyone’s cup of tea, however there are better options, one can choose to do at home. For instance, yoga has become significantly popular in several foreign countries including united states as an easy practice of expending energy, while improving one’s physical flexibility and mental stability. Many start-ups have taken an active role in manufacturing all natural, nutrient rich healthy diets like salads, tackling one’s satiety while curbing unwanted additives effectively. Participating in marathons and community walks regularly, can efficiently alter your body shape and fitness

To summarise, it is pertinent to have a stringent check on food manufacturers about their transparency with their ingredient list, meanwhile educating the public about the side effects of unhealthy feeding practices and the role of balancing their weight with reasonable activities