Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people opined that monetary funds put into the art sector which includes music and theatre is unnecessary and these resources should be diverted to public services instead. I do not agree with this. I strongly believe that the art sector is worth investing in as it provides major health benefits and also serves as a source of employment and revenue to some people and the government respectively.

Art is a major part of culture which has been defined as the way of life of group of people. The government seeks to look after the well-being of its populace and thus must never neglect arts which have been found to be a good way of relieving stress and tension in the human body which has negative long term impact on people’s health. For instance, going to the cinemas and comedy concerts on saturday after a long week of professional activities can help a person reduce stress to the barest minimum and investment in this sector by the government will in turn prolong the lifespan of its workforce i.e. productive population.

Also, arts and culture is the means of employment and livelihood for some people like the artists, dancers, actors and actresses to mention a few, it also brings in a lot of revenue and profit for the government that invests in it. Government of major film industries in the world can attest to these, for example, Hollywood in USA, Bollywood in India and even Nollywood in Nigeria is not left out. Income made from these industries can go a long way in boosting the economy of a country.

In conclusion, public services are important in any society but arts also should not be relegated as it forms the basis of every culture and people. Government should be encouraged to invest into arts and professionals who specialize in the different forms of art and entertainment should direct the affairs of the sector to ensure that monetary resources from the treasury are utilized judiciously.