The government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people's freedoms. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

Governments all over the world have always tried to improve the health of their citizens. Prohibition of smoking is a great step on this way although it can influence smokers' lifes. I totally agree with the idea to discourage smoking in all social locations due to the reasons mentioned hereinafter.

The first thing to be considered is the harm that smoking has a detrimental effect on people who are located close to the smoker. Secondhand smoke cause respiratory diseases, including asthma, and nervous system disorders that occur due to constant irritation from tobacco smoke. Permanent absorption of cigarette smoke also causes conjunctivitis and has a detrimental effect on the human reproductive system. Studies of passive smokers conducted in the United States, Great Britain, Australia and Germany showed the probability of lung cancer in this category of citizens increases by 30%, kidney cancer – by 10-15% and breast cancer – more than 70% compared to non-smokers. Hense, it does not seem unreasonable to suggest that excluding the possibility of smoking in public places is a matter of national importance.

It is quite clear that careless handling of unspent cigarettes can start a fire in public places. Frequently people smoke while drinking alcoholic beverages and do not pay attention to the rules of fire safety. Most of the structures of modern buildings contain combustible materials, therefore, if the fire is handled carelessly, it spreads rapidly. According to the Russian Ministry of emergency situations in 2018 3,255 people died in a fire as a result of negligent attitude to smoking cigarettes. Thus, smoking is not only harmful, but similarly dangerous for a smoker and other citizens who may accidentally die due to negligence.

To conclude, in order to maintain stable economic growth governments have to protect life and health of their citizens. The ban smoking in all public places is one of the important steps on the way to sustainable development of society and minimizing the damage from this bad habit.