The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease the level of violent crimes in the society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a tendency that violent contents can be seen more often in films and television recently. Some people believe that governments are responsible for controlling such improper contents in mass media in order to control the level of violent accidents. I certainly agree with this given view, of which reasons shall be discussed.

It is the major duty for governments to ensure the security of public. However, statistic indicates that the crime rate will exaggerate when people are exposed to large amount of violent contents in their daily life since potential law-breakers might imitate criminal actions in media. Furthermore, for those who intend to break the law such as stealing or robbing, might get inspiration of how to escape from being caught from criminal cases shown in public media. Thus, these improper contents have become accomplices of offenders.

In addition, excessive contents of violence have extremely negative influence on children. As we all know, children do not have sufficient ability to distinguish right from wrong, and they are more likely to imitate behaviors seen in films and TV. For example, children like to imitate the heroes shown in the films, who have been participating in more violent behaviors. Consequently, children might think it is okay and cool to behave violently as what the heroes do in the films.

In conclusion, violence in public media negatively effect on social security and stability. Therefore, governments should take appropriate measures to restrict violence in films and television in order to reduce the crime rate.